Students inducted into national honor societies


Emily Kornegay

Junior Daqwan Bryant signs a pledge as part of the induction into the National Honor Society.

Abby Smith, News Writer

Thirty-five students were inducted into the National Honor and Mu Alpha Theta Societies, Thursday, March 23, in the Performing Arts Center.

“I was very honored to be inducted into both NHS and Mu Alpha Theta,” junior Mikayla Cardwell said. “I’ve worked hard since my freshman year to keep my grades up.  I can’t wait to see what next year brings.”

In order to be in the National Honor Society, students must have a 3.5 GPA. Induction into Mu Alpha Theta requires a B average in math and have taken honors geometry.  

Inductees into the 2017-2018 National Honor Society included seniors Punamben Patel and Edson Amador; juniors Price Alexander, Eddie Anthony, Daqwan Bryant, Lithzi Jimenez, Mikayla Cardwell, Madison Childress, Jessie Evans, Kayci Forrest, Kate Frederick, Mark Gallegos, Madeline Griffin, Kanan Harbuck, Georgia Hughes, Jordan Johnson, Tristian Johnson, Tyelin Maddox, Rachel Moran, Jason Ocampo, Alasha Reed, Harry Perez, Heidi Salazar, Sydney Selman, Grace Stermer and Jordynn Thomas.

“I’m looking forward to doing some great things with this group,” NHS sponsor Anita Glover said.  “We will hold a fundraiser for Cystic Fibrosis and Muscular Dystrophy, attend the Mayor’s breakfast in October, and hand out the programs at graduation in May.”

Seventeen students were also inducted into Mu Alpha Theta including senior Punamben Patel; juniors Kayci Forrest, Mikayla Cardwell, Kate Frederick, Mark Gallagos, Madeline Griffin, Kanan Harbuck, Adam Jones, Stefanie Maya, Nate Pepper, Alasha Reed and Heidi Salazar; and sophomores Amanda Buttgereit, Clay Colley, Miriam Hernandez, Caroline Landers and Leah Waites.

Under the direction sponsor Dawn Cabrera, Mu Alpha Theta plans to volunteer at Boo at the Zoo and Zoo Light Safari during the next school.