Marching Troubadours prepare new halftime show


The Marching Troubadours attend band camp prior to the start of school and practice daily to prepare their new halftime show.

Faith Frost, News Writer

    Last school year, the Montevallo High School Marching Troubadours earned all superior ratings in the three competitions they attended. This year they hope repeat their successes with a halftime show that features “We’re an American Band” by Grand Funk Railroad, “Love Drunk” by Boys Like Girls, and “Don’t Stop Believing” by Journey.
    To get the ball rolling, the Troubadours had to participate in a mandatory band camp on August 6-10.  Camp began at 7 a.m. and lasted until 3 p.m.  After being in the hot sun all day, the Troubadours walked off the practice field red-faced and out of breath, yet that did not discourage them in any way.
    “I look forward to band every day,” freshman bass drummer Thomas Frost said.  “There’s never a time when I don’t want to go to practice.”
    Senior drum major Trenton Johnson also had to attend a camp at the University of Southern Mississippi geared specifically towards conducting, in order to best prepare for his position with the Marching Troubadours.
    “My goal for this year is for us to have a lot of fun and let our hard-work pay off by making all ones in competition,” Johnson said.
    The flute players consist of sophomore Alex McCurdy, freshmen Jonathan Perkins and Courtney Price and eighth grader Alexander Love.  Clarinet players include juniors Mace Wilder and Xan Shivers, freshmen Claire Gray, Devin Doriety, and Alex Ezell, and eighth graders Allyson McCurdy, Sam Reece and Madison Wood.  The saxophonists comprise junior Zach Cox, sophomore Gregory Spence, freshman Jesse White, and eighth graders David Davies and Shay Harris.
    The trumpet players are juniors David Ikard, Horacio Martinez, Derrick Talley, and Chris Seeboth, sophomore Dylan Sanders, freshman C.D. Lawley and eighth grader Alondra Perez. Trombone players include sophomores Sam Hudson and Cameron Cummings, and freshman Bryant Nolen.  Baritone musicians are juniors Kenny Oswald and Stephen Gilbert. The tuba players include junior Jake Pierce and sophomore Kenneth McCutcheon.
    The percussion section consists of senior Austin Sanders, juniors Christian Rutledge and Noah Booth, sophomore Blake Cox, and eighth graders Frost and Brendan House.      
    The auxiliary includes juniors Jessica Davis, Natalie Holsomback, Maddie Phillips, and Heather Wallace, sophomores Lupe Serrano and Karli Broadhead, freshmen Shelby Teston, Lauren Haynie, Lauren Yancey and Maggie Glover.